All of Ribblesdale Cheese is Vegetarian

Close up of curd being cut

Close up of curd being cut

We are asked from time to time if our cheese is vegetarian.

The answer is yes, we use a synthetic form (not GMO) of rennet called Hannilaise.

This is how the manufacturer of Hannilaise describes it: Hannilase Rennet XL205 is a microbial rennet made by a culture fermentation of mucor meihei, this milk-clotting enzyme can be used to produce all cheese varieties.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.